99 + 1 = 100% Accountability For Me


I gotta be honest, I haven’t been keeping up to date on the Occupy Wall Street protests springing up all around in various cities around the nation. I’ve mostly had my head in my work and a few other personal matters so I’ve been a little distant on national and world affairs. Sure, I’ve read a couple articles on news websites here and there about it, and I’ve actually scrolled through the homepage of occupywallst.org (not even sure if that’s the official page or not of their movement), but I definitely haven’t spent enough time and energy to probably give a truly insightful opinion on the topic—but since when has that ever stopped me! Truth is, I can only speak from my personal experience and what I know. From what I hear, it sounds like their heart and cause is in the right place and yes, I do think it’s appalling this apparent 1% that controls the vast majority of us. BUT…

Straight up man, I wish I could blame the reasons for why I’m probably not as well off financially as I should be on some greedy, exploitive CEO off in some massive penthouse suite stockpiling money they don’t deserve…

…But it wouldn’t be the truth.

The truth is, I mismanaged my finances for the better part of my early twenties and didn’t effectively know how to properly balance and budget my income. That’s the real reason. I fucking spent money like a sultan from Dubai.

Spent money on going out, on my car, on my girlfriend, and on other non-essential crap. I once spent 3k on dope rims for my car–a Honda Accord! Really young Vince? Sheesh. Credit cards? Holy crap I didn’t know the damage they could do back then. I basically swiped those like Paris Hilton on speed. I had lots of money rolling in and effectively let it roll on out. It’s the truth. No sugarcoating that shit. But, do I regret it? Not at all. A wise drunk thug once told me a decade ago at a block party in Inglewood: “Bitch, when you die they don’t bury your bank account with your ass.” And while the sentiment isn’t without faults, I’ve always remembered this strange sage advice. I was young and didn’t know any better. I do now. I manage my income and budget reasonably. I don’t try to live outside my means or buy things I don’t need. I don’t buy shit I don’t need like extra watches or shoes, etc. I’ve completely restructured my income and spending techniques in my late twenties and early thirties, and I live comfortable but by no means extravagant. I still spend a lot on myself but for things that matter…and of course, I still spoil my little chihauaha Chugs–she’s fucking adorable, what?

And I kinda like it like it like that. Life’s about more than material shit and wealth. Those things don’t impress me anymore. A dude with a boat–who gives a shit? A celebrity with a dope house–happy fucking mortgage to you. It ain’t about the wealth of fortune it’s about the wealth of life my homies. And for that, I don’t need a handout.


That’s not to say I disagree with the Occupy Wall Street movement at all, or what they stand for, but my momma always told me to take accountability for my actions (or maybe she didn’t, but I’m sure I’ve learned most valuable insights from her and pops, right?), so I have to be honest and say that although I’m certainly a part of the 99%, I can’t entirely blame the 1% either for my past mistakes. Most are on me.

That’s all I have time for now homies, ‘till next time.

Leave a Reply

